DISCOVER THE LEVEN RIVER
Cruises depart from public pontoon, Tasma Parade, Ulverstone - Enjoy a 7km cruise upstream taking in spectacular scenery, bird life and platypus. Be treated to a flora and fauna guided tour and then wine and dine on the banks of the beautiful Leven River. 2 hour cruise or 5 hour lunch cruise and 1 hour bay cruise, are options available. Bookings phone (03) 6425 2839 visit www.discovertheleven.com.au
PARKS AND MAIN BEACH
Dial Street and Beach Road, Ulverstone - Picnic or barbecue in the extensive parklands adjacent Ulverstone's main beach, a popular setting for family outings.
PEDAL BUGGIES TASMANIA HIRE & SALE
The Beach Hut, 2 Beach Road, Ulverstone - Fun and entertaining for all ages, pedal buggies are easy to ride. Hire single person buggies to family buggies, with baby seats and trailers that can be added. Open weekends, school holidays and most public holidays from 10am to 4.30pm or by appointment. Phone 0437 242 535 email firstname.lastname@example.org
The Remembrance Pathway is part of the Coastal Pathway linking Ulverstone and Turners Beach and provides a link between the key memorials parks including ANZAC, Shropshire, Tobruk and Air Force parks. It's a well-kept secret that Ulverstone is home to Australia's largest naval memorial park. Shropshire Park was initially built to remember the crew of HMAS Shropshire, a cruiser given to the Australian Navy to replace the HMAS Canberra after this ship was destroyed in action off Savo Island, in the Solomons in August 1942. The park was constructed in 1982 initially to honour only the Shropshire; however, it is now a memorial home to over a hundred naval ships with accounts of their histories. It features a memorial to the Canberra as well as HMAS Australia and the 7th Australian Destroyer Fleet. The development of many of these parks was originally due to the efforts of Bob Boyd, the Councils Parks Supervisor at the time, who served in the RAN during World War II.
THREE SISTERS - GOAT ISLAND NATURE RESERVE
Penguin Road, Ulverstone - The small off-shore islands comprising the Three Sisters are sanctuaries to a variety of bird life. Goat Island, to their east, is accessible at low tide - but take care not to get stranded. Fish, explore or just observe the bird and marine life.
ULVERSTONE HISTORY MUSEUM
50 Main Street, Ulverstone - Step back in time and wander through a comprehensive display of artefacts, manuscripts, tools and photographs depicting the life of local pioneers. Open Daily from 1.30pm to 4.30pm. Research days are Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. (As the Museum is staffed entirely by volunteers, please phone ahead to ensure the museum will be open at the time you intend to visit.)
Admission Fees:- School excursions - by appointment (conditions apply), Adults $5.00, Children $2.00 (up to 16 yrs.), Family Group $12.00 (Children up to 16 yrs.), Children must be accompanied by an adult. Yearly and life passes available on request (excellent gift idea).
Phone (03) 6425 3835 email email@example.com visit http://www.ulvmuseum.com/
ULVERSTONE MINIATURE RAILWAY
Maskells Road, Ulverstone - Ride the only model railway in Tasmania with three separate track gauges and three separate track layouts. Located 2km east of Ulverstone, it operates every first and third Sunday of the month from 10.30am to 4pm. Phone (03) 6425 3675
Beach Road, Ulverstone - Approximately 60m of fibreglass chute ending in a warm pool. Open during the summer school holidays. Private bookings available. Email firstname.lastname@example.org or phone (03) 6425 6252
ZIGZAG GARDEN AND LOOKOUT
Maud to Upper Maud Streets, Ulverstone - Admire the beautiful, award-winning gardens lining the hillside zigzag walk and the panoramic views from the top.
HISCUTT PARK & DUTCH WINDMILL
Crescent Street, Penguin - Just minutes from the town centre, the park is an ideal family spot, with barbecue facilities and large playground. A lake and flower garden featuring tulip displays in spring complement the windmill built by Dutch migrants.
PENGUIN GENERAL CEMETERY
Heritage-listed in 2007 our cemetery is located along Main Street, Penguin a kilometre west of the Post Office, up through the traffic lights.
At rest here are Bounty immigrants of the 1850s, returned soldiers from as far back as the Boer War, many of Penguin's former notables, as well as the odd ex-convict.
Opened in the 1860s, it closed in 1977, some eighteen hundred burials later, leaving behind many a mystery. Where will these stories take you?
Like who's the 'John Doe', buried 7 January 1915? Could he be Jeremiah or Michael Clifford, an Irishman in his 40s? The search for his identity continues. Somewhere there's a family.
What of the row of petite headstones dignifying seven pioneers from the early 1900s? Then there's the Neolithic-like headstone, so at odds with the rest.
And the modest garden dedicated to the love for, and tragedy of, the cemetery's numerous unnamed babies.
In passing, every person leaves footprints, their stories to be found and voiced. A treasure-trove of history, information and lives gone awaits the curious, with much research readily available: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Penguin_General_Cemetery
PENGUIN MINIATURE RAILWAY
Held 2nd and 4th Sundays each month at Johnsons Beach (off Main Road) from 11am to 3pm. Available for group bookings. Phone 6437 2786
Main Road, Penguin - A mass of colour in spring, this seaside garden bordering the eastern entrance to the town follows the road and rail route for approximately one kilometre.
THE BIG PENGUIN
Esplanade, Penguin - The Big Penguin, standing a proud 3m tall on the foreshore, was erected to commemorate the town's centenary in 1975. It has become one of the most photographed landmarks in Tasmania.
Braddons Lookout Road, Leith - 10km east of Ulverstone, the lookout has stunning views of the coastline, Forth valley and beyond.
CRADLE COAST OLIVES
Located at 574 Castra Road, Abbotsham, 8kms south of Ulverstone en route to Leven Canyon. Taste Australia's premier extra virgin olive oil and view the pressing room and well tended grove. Phone 03 6425 3449 or visit www.cradlecoastolives.com.au
Ironcliffe Road, Penguin - This chain of mountains and valleys was given its name because the silhouette of one of its summits, the Gnomon, resembles an ancient sun-dial. The Range has more than 50km of trail, with opportunities for short walks or longer treks, depending on bushwalking experience. Short walks include Ferndene (30 mins return), Tall Trees (45 mins), Mount Montgomery (2 hrs), Leven River (40-60 mins) and Mount Gnomon (2 hrs). For more information, purchase a Dial Range Recreation and Management Map from a local visitor information centre, or write to the North West Walking Club, PO Box 107, Ulverstone.
GUNNS PLAINS CAVE
Gunns Plains Road, Gunns Plains - One of the best examples of its type in Tasmania, the cave is home to some of the largest limestone shawl formations in the Southern Hemisphere and features an underground stream and glow-worm display. Guided tours take approx. 1 hour and are conducted daily at 10am, 11am, 12noon, 1.30pm, 2.30pm and 3.30pm. Phone (03) 6429 1388, visit http://www.gunnsplainscaves.com.au/
250 Loongana Road, Nietta - Two hectares of garden present a visual delight, with 30,000 daffodils at bloom in spring, summer displays of peonies and foxgloves, and an autumn show of maples. Approx. 30 minutes drive from Ulverstone, visit for the day and enjoy the friendly hospitality. Phone (03) 6429 1293
Loongana Road, Loongana - A spectacular 250m-deep ravine 41km south of Ulverstone, the Leven Canyon is a must-see for any visitor. From a well-equipped picnic area, follow the rainforest walk to the cliff-face viewing platform and marvel at the breathtaking scenery.
MOUNTAIN VALLEY WILDERNESS HOLIDAYS
1519 Loongana Road, Loongana - Located 45km south of Ulverstone at the base of Black Bluff, Mountain Valley Wilderness Holidays offer guided eco-tours of the lost valley, a pristine wilderness of forests, waterfalls and caves. Tours are individual and tailored to visitor's interests and abilities. At the end of the day, relax in the cosy, comfortable log cabins. Phone (03) 6429 1394, fax (03) 6429 1229, visit http://www.mountainvalley.com.au/
PENGUIN CRADLE TRAIL
Dial Range, Penguin - The 80km trail heads inland from the coast to the world-famous Cradle Mountain. Some sections make for a pleasant stroll, while others provide a definite bushwalking challenge. The complete walk takes six days, but access roads mean that sections can be done as day or overnight trips. For more information, write to the North West Walking Club, PO Box 107, Ulverstone or visit http://www.nwwc.org.au/
1399 Pine Road, Riana - Relax in a beautiful rural park complete with all the facilities for an overnight camp as well as playground and barbecue areas. Phone (03) 6437 6137
Raymond Road, Gunns Plains - For locals and visitors alike, the falls are a popular scenic addition to any daytrip.
Wilmot Road, Forth - Driving range located 2km from Forth. Practice your golf and win prizes for hitting targets. Open public holidays and weekends from 10am., other times by appointment. Phone 0408 695 330, visit http://www.targetgolf.com.au/
TURNERS BEACH BERRY PATCH
Blackburn Drive, Turners Beach, (03) 6428 3967 - Pick your own strawberries or raspberries or pre-picked available or enjoy a zesty berry ice-cream. Cafe now open serving , lunches, morning and afternoon teas, all home-made by our chef. Gluten free options available. Freshly ground coffee. Indoor/outdoor area for dining. Open 10.00am to 5.00pm daily from October to May. Closed public holidays.
WING'S WILDLIFE PARK
137 Winduss Road, Gunns Plains - Something for all the family, with Nan's tea-room, wildlife exhibits (includes the Tasmanian devil), trout display and animal nursery. Get close to Tasmanian snakes, lizards and frogs at the Reptile Centre - home to freshwater crocodiles and the rare Golden Tiger Snake. Cabin, caravan, camp site and backpacker accommodation available. Open 10am to 4pm daily or by appointment. (Closed Christmas Day.) Phone (03) 6429 1151
WINTERBROOK FALLS AND BLACK BLUFF
Smiths Plains Road, Nietta - Bushwalk through dense rainforest, comprising King Billy pines over 2000 years old, to Winterbrook Falls cascading 200m off Black Bluff to the rainforest below. The falls are spectacular after heavy rain and when snows are melting, but are hardly visible during hot summer weather. This does not reduce their appeal, as the walking is attractive all year round. The return walk, with lunch stop, takes between four and five hours.
Dooley's Track was originally carved out by the surveyor James Dooley in the 1850s. The track was built to provide a supply route for packhorses servicing the mining interests along the river and through to Gads Hill. Follow in the footsteps of these pioneers and explore the wonderful riparian environment along the Wilmot River. Dooley's Track leaves the Alma Reserve along Jamiesons Road. Note: Access to State Forest is via the Crown Road Reserve, which passes through private land. Please ensure that the privacy of landholders is respected and keep to the walking track as marked. Dogs are welcome but must be kept on a leash whilst passing through private property.