The 2018 Local Government Elections will be held in October 2018

Local Government Elections

Local Government is the third tier of government in Tasmania.  Tasmania is divided into 29 municipal areas, with each area having a governing council.  Council elections are held every four years, when all councillors from each council in Tasmania vacate their positions and nominations are called for these vacancies.

Councils have a significant impact on the lives of all Tasmanians, enabling the economic, social and cultural development of the community, supporting individuals and groups, and providing a wide range of services for the wellbeing of the community.

For further information regarding the upcoming local government elections, click here.